Unit History

In 1976, Eileen Meier began formally organizing the study unit under the name “Middle and Near East Archaeology Unit”. Eileen, along with 27 members, proposed the unit as an affiliate of the American Topical Association and on August 30, 1977 it was formally accepted into the ATA family of study units. 

In 1979, the unit was accepted as an APS Unit. Eileen became President of the unit and served until 1984. The newsletter was published under the able editorship of David Detrich with Ed Koschman as secretary from 1977 through 1980.

Heinz Schwinge became secretary in 1980 and Hugh Johnson served as President from 1984 to 1989. Eileen again took the reins in 1989 through 1998. Editor Detrich retired in 1997 and George Holland served in this capacity from 1997 through 2003. Merle Farrington became President in 1998 as Eileen assumed the secretary and treasurer position.

Caroline Scannell assumed editorship duties as of 2003 and the new website administrator is Fran Adams.  In August 2004, the unit celebrated its 25th anniversary as a unit of the APS.

We are happy to carry on providing philatelic information of interest to thematic collectors of archaeological subjects around the world and we hope to continue for some time to come.

Development of mankind